House of the Rising Sun

I rose at 5 o’clock yesterday morning and sat on the terrace for an hour, watching the sun slowly rise over the mountain. The town was silent, sleeping. Only the myriad swifts on the wing were with me to greet the sun.

Sunrise, Spello

“O hastening light..” Walt Whitman

Sunrise, Spello

“In the sun born over and over..” Dylan Thomas

Sunrise, Spello

“Here comes the sun, and I say, it’s alright..” George Harrison

Sunrise, Spello

“Thy beams so reverend and strong..” John Donne

Sunrise, Spello

“Follow those pure beams whose beauty burneth..” Thomas Campion

Sunrise, Spello

“I stood upon the hills, when heaven’s wide arch, Was glorious with the sun’s returning march.” H.W. Longfellow

DSC_0362

“Great is the sun, and wide he goes, Through empty heaven without repose..” R.L. Stevenson

Sunrise, Spello

4 thoughts on “House of the Rising Sun

    1. maryshoobridge Post author

      Good. I love classic poetry, but since I originated near Liverpool, the Beatles songs have always provided a backdrop to my life.

      Sent from my iPad

      Reply

Leave a Reply

