Take the Long Way Home

“Travel does not exist without home….If we never return to the place we started, we would just be wandering, lost. Home is a reflecting surface, a place to measure our growth and enrich us after being infused with the outside world.” – Josh Gates

Mini Adventures: The Dust Settles

Mini Adventures: The Dust Settles

We set off almost 4 months ago with a pocketful of Euros, a tankful of petrol and heads full of possibilities. We could not have imagined the wonderful places we have been privileged to see and the delightful people we met along the way. Now we have come full circle and arrived home, enriched by our experiences.

“For an occurrence to become an adventure, it is necessary and sufficient for one to recount it.” – Jean-Paul Sartre

This – my first venture into the world of blogging – was a way to keep in touch with family and friends and to keep a record of our experiences. I could not have imagined the numerous people we didn’t know who joined us along the way and the great feedback provided by so many. The enthusiasm spurred me on.

“I am looking for someone to share in an adventure that I am arranging, and it’s very difficult to find anyone.’
I should think so — in these parts! We are plain quiet folk and have no use for adventures. Nasty disturbing uncomfortable things! Make you late for dinner!” – J. R. R. Tolkein

Mio marito is not one of life’s natural adventurers, but once he had got used to the idea he threw himself into enjoying every moment with gusto! The majority of the photographs I have included on the blog are his, taken with his trusty Nikon D80 camera with an 18-135mm zoom lens. The remainder, including all the food photos, are mine, taken with my i-Phone.

“The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

This adventure may be over, but if I get my way there will be many more to come. I have loved writing this blog and so I intend to continue blogging under a different title; “Magic Spello” was a perfect descriptor for this particular experience but it will not best reflect future musings. I will post the name of my new blog on this page in case you want to follow it, otherwise ping me a message and I will let you know when it is live.

Until then, goodbye and good luck.

Post script: Join me on my latest blog at the link below.

http://indifferentreflections.wordpress.com

“Every mountain top is within reach if you just keep climbing.” – Barry Finlay

Homebirds

Homebirds

16 thoughts on “Take the Long Way Home

  1. Helen Winter

    Welcome Home Mary. It’s been great following your blog and I’m so glad you’ve had such a wonderful time. We must get together sometime to have a good catch up. XX

    Reply
  2. Kirstin

    I am glad you have arrived home safely and have enjoyed reading your adventures immensely. I hope you do continue to blog as you have a wonderful gift for capturing images with your words.
    Enjoy being home and getting back into the non-Italian way of life.

    Reply
  3. Pamela

    This has been an amazing blog… beautifully presented and photographed,with a beautiful conclusion….love the quotes too. Yes Im one of those people you ” picked up ” along the way… that lovely day when I met you completely by chance in Spello….magic Spello. I’m sure you will travel again with another adventure just around the corner, but in the mean time just enjoy home and the time for reflection every evening, knowing that all it takes to be a part of that Italian way of life again, is closed eyes and an imagination that has captured the last 4 months.
    Welcome home !! Pamela x x

    Reply
    1. maryshoobridge Post author

      Pamela, thank you so much for your lovely message. It was a fortunate day need when we met you in Spello – you are a delightful lady. I am so glad you enjoyed the blog and hope you will join the replacement blog which I will be launching soon! Very best wishes from us both. Xx

      Sent from my iPad

      Reply
    1. maryshoobridge Post author

      Thank you for your comment. That photo was snapped on our front garden. The pheasant struts past regularly, but it was just happenstance that I caught him striding past the bare-bottomed statue. I always maintain that photography is 10% talent and 90% luck!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

