Ferrari Lifestyle

 

Ferrari Badge

Ferrari Badge

I drive a mini. In the advertising blurb it is (laughingly) described as an “entry level BMW”. Perhaps it is a sign of my lack of competitiveness that I don’t aspire to go beyond entry level; I am very content with what I drive.

Here in Italy, I have seen very little of the caricature of an Italian driver with his designer sunglasses, tight jeans, slicked back hair and flashy car, driven at speed. In fact, in Spello the average form of transport is a battered old fiat or a lambretta scooter. Or at least that was the case until a rather more eye-catching car roared into town.

image

When it drove by, the ground beneath my feet shook and my ears rang. This Ferrari was meant to be noticed and admired….

image

The bodywork reflected everything – just look at how it captures the surrounding buildings in its mirrored finish.

image

I can’t make up my mind whether I love it or hate it. It certainly turns heads. What do you think? Do you think it is garish and ostentatious or could you see yourself behind the wheel?

image

12 thoughts on “Ferrari Lifestyle

  1. Michelle

    He is still trying to work out who owns it, he still believes it has to belong to a famous footballer. The boy is super excited about the World Cup, poor Emma is not.

    Reply
    1. maryshoobridge Post author

      I have been given a hint as to who owns it, but it is not a famous footballer if my intelligence is correct! Here the World Cup matches can be heard radiating from TV sets everywhere, except in our apartment which is a TV free zone. We have one, but do not intend to turn it on. The sunset is far more spectacular than any goal!

      Reply
  2. Kay

    Well, it saves having to carry a small mirror in one’s handbag for nose-powdering purposes. When I’m rich enough to buy one, I’m sure I’ll be able to afford a dedicated car polishing servant to keep it nice and shiny at all times! (or Stu).

    Reply
  3. Anthony Allinson

    I saw one of these in Canary Wharf last week where it was vulgar. I am sure in Spello the same car is possessed of chutzpah.

    I also wonder whether it might be all but invisible since it reflects it’s surroundings. Perhaps Ferrari have taken dangerous driving to new levels after all.

    Anthony

    Reply
    1. maryshoobridge Post author

      Ah, an interesting philosophical point you raise here, Anthony, as to whether location affects taste! I rather think you may be right. I agree that this finish could be a dangerous distraction if you were overtaking it on the motorway. Not that I ever would, of course, in my mini….I would only see its dust.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

