Can’t Buy Me Love

 

Click those heels together and make a wish!

Slippers that keep an eye on you….Click those heels together and head back to Kansas!

“Give a girl the right shoes and she can conquer the world.” Marilyn Monroe

It is true to say that money can’t buy you love, but it can get you pretty much everything else. I should tell you right away that I am not a shopper. The consumerism that has gripped so many people in the developed world does nothing for me, but I do still enjoy a bit of window shopping.

Where did you get that hat?

Where did you get that hat?

Where better to window shop than Italy for quality and style? Home of so many fashion labels: Versace, Gucci, Armani, Moschino, Valentino and Prada, to name but a few. But as well as the big names, small businesses – often family affairs – are commonplace, and their attention to detail in materials such as leather, silk and wool is wonderful.

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” Yves Saint-Laurent

Bags of choice

Bags of choice.

“You can never be overdressed or overeducated” Oscar Wilde

Even in the small Umbrian town of Spello there are a variety of small shops crammed with delights….

Spello La Bottega

Spello La Bottega degli Intrecci

….where a little Italian flair is used to show the goods to best effect….

Leather and ceramics Spello

Leather and ceramics Spello

Further afield, in Umbria’s capital, Perugia, the shops are cosmopolitan, stylish, plentiful.

“Where is the man that can ease a heart like a satin gown? Dorothy Parker

Party? Me?

Party? Me?

I think I was more attracted to the reflection of Perugia Cathedral than the contents of this particular window….

Plastic Fantastic!

Plastic Fantastic!

“Elegance is the only beauty that never fades.” Audrey Hepburn

This was a feast for the eyes. Look – more sparkly shoes….

IMG_2425

Food shopping is more my style. Local cheeses just waiting to be nibbled with a decent glass of wine….

Cheese: yes please!

Cheese: yes please!

Then there is chocolate. Perugia is famous, amongst other things, for its high quality chocolate. No surprise then that shop windows are crammed with sweet delights….

DSC_0442

Even better was the Chocostore in Perugia’s main square….

DSC_0252

….with a view of the beautiful fountain….

DSC_0254

Even the drinks were chocolate-based, including alcoholic beers and cocktails….

Chocolate Heaven, Perugia

Chocolate Heaven, Perugia

The city of Assisi is known for its links to its most famous son, Saint Francis. Here, beside the many churches and the basilica, numerous shops and restaurants exploit the Saint, for example selling Saint Francis cakes which are tagged with a picture of him!

Assisi Bakery

Assisi Bakery

Walk in the steps of Saint Francis: this footwear could only be found in such quantities in Assisi….

Assisi, sandals

Assisi, sandals

Time to head back to Spello where this hill town helmet caught my eye.

Hill Town Helmet!

Hill Town Helmet!

Helmet, designer sunglasses, leather gloves and Vespa scooter….I’m all ready to go touring with the Touring Club Italiano!

DSC_0323

“Fashion is in the sky, in the street, fashion has to do with ideas, the way we live, what is happening.” Coco Chanel

 

8 thoughts on “Can’t Buy Me Love

    1. maryshoobridge Post author

      Ah yes – the platforms, the killer heels…and that’s just your collection! Seriously, I have the opposite view. In my dreams I always (and still do!) dress like Audrey Hepburn. In reality I have never liked shoes or clothes, other than for a necessary purpose. I fear that any collection of my old shoes and/or clothes would only be used as examples of how NOT to dress, ever!

      Reply
      1. Anthony Allinson

        I have the widest feet, H. Shoes matter. I’m utilitarian about clothes in general and glad I’m a man, so the same suits I use for work, also cover hatches, matches and despatches.

        But shoes are different. I have cricket boots, tennis shoes, squash shoes, walking shoes, sailing shoes, skiing boots, numerous running shoes, sailing boots, riding boots, work shoes (all identical black Chelsea boots, 8.5G but the boot makes me wide enough).

        They are all very wide. They were all a pain to find. When I found the Chelsea boots I bought three pairs and endlessly get them resoled.

        Yours Mr Toad 🙂

  1. maryshoobridge Post author

    My, my, Anthony…you do have quite a collection! Have you got your very own shoe cupboard? Actually, I find it rather engaging that sports have their own shoes; one must look the part down to the finest detail!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

